Saturday, December 31, 2016

Tracy's Year in Reading

Is has become our custom at BCPL to announce our Best Books of the year lists throughout the month of January. I know everyone else's lists come out in December, but we figure in December most people are too distracted by holiday prep and recovery to pay much attention to our book lists. So we wait until the New Year, when readers are excited and ready to kick off their year by reading a great book (or two or three). (And honestly, the delay also gives us an opportunity to read and discover those late-year releases we might otherwise overlook.)

Well, this year we are adding a new tradition. I am kicking off this year's announcements with a retrospective on the various books I've read in 2016. Ever since I introduced BCPL's Best of the Year lists here on Book News & Reviews in January 2012, I've always regretted not reflecting more on the titles that didn't quite make the list, whether they were just edged out or didn't even come close.

So here's my first annual Year in Reading. Some of the included titles will make the final Best of 2016 lists (care to guess which ones?) while others won't. Regardless, each of these titles has made an impression on me in 2016!

1 Weirdly compelling book that I still can't decide whether I liked it or not:
1. Nutshell by Ian McEwan
Seriously, this book is told from the perspective of a preternaturally intellectual unborn baby whose mother is having an affair and plotting the father's murder. It's fascinating in ways and completely ridiculous in others. But I was hooked.



1 Book that made me tear up:
1. Ida, Always by Caron Levis

The Fault in Our Stars didn't generate a single tear, but this bittersweet picture book definitely got to me.





2 historical novels that taught me something I didn't know:
1. The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
2.  Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
Of course, I studied the Civil War and World War II in school (I was even a history minor in college!), but I had very little knowledge about the inner workings of the underground railroad and the dangers not only to the passengers but also to the facilitators. And while the metaphorical railroad is actually a literal railroad in Whitehead's novel, the experiences of Cora and her cohorts made the journey real to me in a way that other works could not.  As for Salt to the Sea, it still stuns me that the fate of the MV Wilhelm Gustloff, the deadliest ship disaster in recorded history, isn't better known.



2 YA standards I FINALLY read:
1. Song of the Lioness Quartet (series) by Tamara Pierce
2. I Am the Cheese by Robert Cormier
Of course, neither of these is even eligible for the Best of 2016 lists, but I did get to mark them off my massive to-read list!





2 Great books that realistically explore complex family dynamics: 
1. Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina
2. Commonwealth by Ann Patchett
A YA novel set during the Summer of Sam, Burn Baby Burn has a lot of layers, but what truly makes it stand out is the juxtaposition of the general sense of fear permeating New York City with Nora's growing unease in her own home. And Patchett does a fantastic job of detailing the messiness of modern families.



2 Love stories to feed my inner romantic:
1. Because of Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn
2. The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Julia Quinn can always be counted on for a fluffy romantic romp. And I dare fans of YA realistic fiction not to inhale Nicola Yoon's second novel.





3 Nonfiction works that made me reflect on life and my beliefs from a new perspective:
1. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalinithi
2. The Abundance: Narrative Essays Old and New by Annie Dillard
3. But What If We're Wrong?: Thinking About the Present As If It Were the Past by Chuck Klosterman
Annie Dillard can always be counted on for a offbeat perspective on seemingly everyday occurrences. She's not for everyone, but her writing always leaves me in awe. 


4 books perfect for my inner (or not so inner) bibliophile:
1. Booked by Kwame Alexander
2. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

3. The View from the Cheap Seats: Selected Nonfiction by Neil Gaiman
4. In Other Words by Jhumpa Lahiri
I've always loved books about writing or characters who love (or learn to love) books.


4 YA fantasies that have me eager for the next installment:

1. A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tabir (Book 2 of an Ember in the Ashes)
2. The Crown's Game by Elvelyn Skye (Book 1 of The Crown's Game)
3. Red Queen & Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard (Books 1 & 2 of Red Queen)
4. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (Book 1 of The Dark Artifices)

I am most looking forward to the next Ember in the Ashes book, but I am curious to see how Cassandra Clare's newest Shadowhunter series will develop as well. Book one was just so-so for me, but the series looks promising!

4 Novels with beautiful writing:
1. Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson
2. The Fireman by Joe Hill
3. Pax by Sara Pennypacker
4. The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Woodson, whether she is writing in verse or prose, can always be relied upon for her stunning imagery and use of language, and there were passages in The Fireman that were so visceral and beautifully put that they held me in thrall. I was listening to the audiobook, so I often scanned back on the CD just to hear them again. In Pax, Pennypacker often writes with a insightful lyricism that belies the fact that this novel is directed at a middle-grade audience. Nicola Yoon's follow up to Everything, Everything is an intensely moving and thought-provoking journey from beginning to end.

4 Memorable nonfiction works dealing with significant social and/or economic issues: 

1. Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond
2. Blood at the Root: A Racial Cleansing in America by Patrick Phillips
3. March: Book Three by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell
4. The Fire This Time: A New Generation Speaks About Race by Jessmyn Ward
In past years, I was captured by books like Behind the Beautiful Forevers, The Men We Reaped, Ghettoside, and Between the World and Me. These titles are all worthy follow ups for anyone who wants to be better informed about these issues.

5 Audiobooks with fantastic narration:
1. Grayling's Song by Karen Cushman. Read by Katherine Kellgren.
2. The Wonder by Emma Donoghue. Read by Kate Lock.
3. The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead. Read by Bahni Turpin.
4. Find Her by Lisa Gardner. Read by Kirsten Potter.
5. The Fireman by Joe Hill. Read by Kate Mulgrew.
Seriously, I'd listen to a treatise on wood lice if Katherine Kellgren was reading it.



5 Super-short reads for adult readers without a lot of time:
1. Margaret the First by Danielle Dutton
2. Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

3. The Ballad of Black Tom by Victor LaVelle
4. My Name Is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Stroud
5. Nutshell by Ian McEwan
Some of these I loved, and others were just okay for me. But I am completely okay with that since the time investment was minimal.



5 Super-fast reads for reluctant middle-grade readers:
1. Garvey's Choice by Nikki Grimes
2. Booked by Kwame Alexander
3. Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier
4. The Nameless City by Faith Erin Hicks
5. The Poet's Dog by Patricia MacLachlan
Garvey's Choice and Booked are both novels in verse, and Ghosts and The Nameless City are graphic novels. As for the fifth choice, MacLachlan has delivered another slim novel that manages to pack in a full, emotionally engaging story.


5 Twisty thrillers:
1. Find Her by Lisa Gardner
2. The Widow by Fiona Barton
3. All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

4. All Things Cease to Appear by Elizabeth Brundage
5. Redemption Road by John Hart
2016 was a fantastic year for thrillers and suspense novels. There are tons more I still want to read.



9 picture books with fantastic illustrations:
1. Ideas Are All Around by Philip C. Stead
2. Thunder Boy Jr. by Sherman Alexie, illustrated by Yuyi Morales
3. Freedom in Congo Square by Carole Boston Weatherford, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie
4. There Is a Tribe of Kids by Lane Smith
5. The Airport Book by Lisa Brown

6. The Animal's Ark by Marianne Dubuc
7. Spot, the Cat by Henry Cole

8. Waiting for High Tide by Nikki McClure
9. Anything but Ordinary Addie: The True Story of Adelaide Hermann, Queen of Magic by Mara Rockliff
I liked some books better than others as a whole, but the illustrations are all wonderful. Each has something different to offer—from the fantastically nuanced illustrations of The Airport Book to Dubuc's soft colored-pencil sketches to the dynamic 3D illustrations of Anything but Ordinary Addie.

So that's just a snapshot of some of the books I've read this year, though there are plenty I've forgotten or chosen not to include in this retrospective. And off course I didn’t get to everything I’d have liked to read—not even close—but all in all, I have to say it was a great year of books and stories. How was your year in reading?

Sunday, October 16, 2016

FALL GIVEAWAY 2016

It's fall giveaway time again!

Our selection of Advance Reader copies (ARCs) is small this time around, but there's still plenty to be excited about! For example, anyone who loved last year's YA bestseller All the Bright Places will be clamoring for an early copy of Jennifer Niven's latest, Holding Up the Universe.


As always, the rules of entry are at the end of the post. Please note that all prizes must be picked up at a BCPL location within two months of notification, or the unclaimed ARCs will be returned to the stockpile for the next giveaway. The contest runs through the end of Wednesday, November 16th. No entries will be accepted after midnight.

So without further ado, here are our giveaways for Fall 2016:


And I Darken by Kiersten White
Conqueror's Saga #1
*ARC - Released June 2016 *
In this first book in a trilogy a girl child is born to Vlad Dracula, in Transylvania, in 1435--at first rejected by her father and always ignored by her mother, she will grow up to be Lada Dragwlya, a vicious and brutal princess, destined to rule and destroy her enemies.–NoveList

Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit
 *ARC - Released January 2016 *
When her university professor father is sent by the Gestapo to a concentration camp, seven-year-old Anna travels the Polish countryside with the mysterious Swallow Man during World War II.–NoveList

Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten
 *ARC - Released May 2016 *
When a scholarship girl and a wealthy classmate become friends, their bond is tested when a handsome young teacher separately influences the girls in order to further his less-than-admirable interests. –NoveList
Calamity by Brandon Sanderson
The Reckoners #3
 *ARC - Released February 2016 *

David and the Reckoners must face the most powerful High Epic of all to find redemption for his closest friend, Prof. –NoveList

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas
 
*ARC - Released April 2016 *
When her father dies, Tessa is pulled back to the small Pennsylvania town where her life came apart when her father was sent to prison, her mother went to pieces, and her beloved older sister ran away, and where her testimony and that of her now-estranged friend Callie sent a serial killer to death row--a serial killer who may be getting a new trial as long buried secrets come to light.  –NoveList

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow
 *ARC - Released August 2016 *

As she struggles to recover and survive, seventeen-year-old homeless Charlotte "Charlie" Davis cuts herself to dull the pain of abandonment and abuse.–NoveList

Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven
 *ARC - Released October 2016 *

"A boy with face blindness and a girl who struggles with weight fall in love" –NoveList

The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto by Mitch Albom
 *ARC - Released November 2015 *

Sent to America at age nine with nothing but an old guitar, Frankie Presto achieves success on the mid-twentieth-century music scene before becoming overburdened by his ability to affect people's futures through his music. –NoveList

Open a World of Possible edited by Lois Bridges
 *Trade Paperback *

In a series of essays and stories, celebrated literacy experts, language researchers, librarians, children’s authors, and poets share their own real stories about the joys and power of reading.


Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum
*ARC - Released April 2016 *
Sixteen-year old Jessie, still grieving over her mother's death, must move from Chicago to "The Valley," with a new stepfamily but no new friends until an anonymous fellow student emails and offers to help her navigate the school's treacherous social waters–NoveList

A Totally Awkward Love Story by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison
 *ARC - Released May 2016 *

"Hannah and Sam are each searching for The One-- but over the summer, a series of hilarious misunderstandings prevent them from realizing that they're It for one another"- –NoveList


Rules of Entry

1. To enter the drawing, you must log in to the Rafflecopter Widget below with your e-mail address or Facebook account and click on "Leave a comment on this blog post."

Entry Task #1
 First, you must leave a comment at the bottom of this post stating which titles you would like to receive. To do so, you will need to click on the "Post a Comment" link below the Rafflecopter widget. If you do not leave a comment at the bottom of the post, I will not know which prize(s) to give you if you win the drawing. You may choose as many titles as you like; you are not guaranteed to win your top choices, but I do my best. 

Entry Task #2 Second, you must Answer the confirmation question and click on "ENTER" at the bottom of the widget only after you have posted your comment as described in Entry Task #1 . After completing the first widget task, you can also earn bonus entries by following the directions in the widget.


2.  All ARCs must be picked up at a Bullitt County Public Library location. Contest ends at the end of the day on Wednesday, November 16th.Winners will be notified via e-mail and will be posted on this blog no later than Tuesday, November 22nd. Winners will have up to two months from the time of notification to collect their prizes. If items have not been picked up at the end of this period or if I have not been contacted to request an alternative arrangement, unclaimed prizes will be retained for future giveaways.

Good luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

BCPL's Ultimate Teen Booklist

Let the Teen Read Week celebrations commence! Teen Read Week 2016 officially began this past Sunday and continues through Saturday, October 15th. As has become our tradition here at BCPL, our celebration features the latest updates to our Ultimate Teen Booklist. After making a ton of new additions last year, this year, we've made a point of cleaning house and removing titles that we no longer feel merit inclusion. This may be because we feel the book has become dated; because we think there there is a newer, very similar book that is even better; or because we've just lost our enthusiasm for a particular title.

That's not to say we don't have a few new titles we are excited to add! We've evaluated over 40 books for possible inclusion this season, and that's not even counting the books we read before our committee season began. But to keep the list from getting too out of control, we've made extra efforts to be super selective this year while keeping our eye out for awesome books we've overlooked in the past as well as recent favorites we believe have the power to endure. We've also worked to round out our current list with a few more nonfiction titles.


So without further ado, here are the latest additions to our Ultimate Teen Booklist:


The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by William Kamkawamba (2009)
This is the highly readable story of a young Malawian teenager who, unable to afford the tuition to attend school, taught himself the principles of physics and electricity from books borrowed from the local elementary school—and then used that knowledge to build a windmill that provided his family with light, heat, and running water. Yet this book is about much more than building a windmill. It contains elements of magic as Kamkwamba relates the folklore and superstitions of his culture, and it touches on many of the troubles in modern Africa without becoming overwhelming or preachy. It’s about inspiring a community and making a difference. Kamkwamba’s story is one of ingenuity, perseverance, and hope, and the easy, conversational style of this book makes the life in a poor African farm family seem both relatable and fascinating. A young reader edition is also available, but most teens should be comfortable with the original version. Middle School/High School.

The Hired Girl by Laura Amy Schlitz (2015)
Joan Skraggs is tired of being undervalued by her father and brothers for the backbreaking work she puts in day after day. Life is hard on a 1911 Pennsylvania farm, and 14-year-old Joan’s only respite is found in the books she loves. Then Joan decides she’s finally had enough of being unappreciated, unpaid labor and decides to get a post in the city as a hired girl. Under a fake name and lying about her age, Joan lucks into a position in the home of a wealthy Jewish family. Everything in her new world is foreign and utterly fascinating, and Joan soon finds herself making mistake after mistake—from setting her hair on fire to crushing on one of her employers’ sons—even as she grows from a naïve country girl to a capable young woman. Told through a series of diary entries, this is a warm and thought-provoking story, laced with humor. Joan’s voice is fresh and hilariously candid, sure to appeal to readers who’ve enjoyed characters like Anne Shirley, Jo March, or Jane Eyre. Middle School (mature)/High School.

Hitler Youth: Growing Up in Hitler's Shadow by Susan Campbell Bartoletti (2005)
Rather than focusing on Hitler himself, this well-rounded history considers the children and teens who pledged their loyalty to Hitler and their motivations for doing so. While some of the youths became disillusioned by Hitler's ideals as they grew older, others remained steadfastly obedient to their Führer, often despite familial disapproval or their own consciences. Through the stories of twelve Hitler Youth members, Bartoletti  provides a terrifying picture of how Hitler was able to gain such unchecked power and blind devotion while offering a fascinating look at the young people who grew up during his reign. Middle School/High School.

Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott (2005)
After enduring five years of terror and abuse, Alice believes her only escape from her captor is death. And now that she is fifteen, Alice half hopes that Ray will finally take that final step and kill her. But Ray has another idea: he wants Alice to help him select and train his next victim. With spare, lyrical prose, Scott weaves an intensely disturbing tale that promises no safe or easy answers. High School (mature).

Positive: A Memoir by Paige Rawls with Ali Benjamin (2014)
Paige was in sixth grade when she learned that she had HIV. Although she was born HIV positive, it didn’t really affect her life in ways she was aware of until she told a friend about her diagnosis and rumors began to spread. From that point, Paige became the target of relentless bullying. This is the inspiring and revelatory story of how she coped with the bullying and the challenges of living with HIV into adulthood. Middle School /High School.

Raven Cycle (series) by Maggie Stiefvater (2012–2016)
Blue is an outsider. She comes from a family of clairvoyants but has no psychic abilities herself; instead, her presence acts as an amplifier for others' gifts. Like most of the Henrietta locals, Blue wants nothing to do with the stuck-up Raven Boys of Aglionby Academy, but then she meets Gansey, whose fate seems tied to Blue and a deadly curse. Despite her better judgment and fear of the curse, Blue joins Gansey and his group of boys’ school misfits in their quest to unravel a mystical mystery involving an ancient Welsh king. Mystery, heartbreak, friendship, betrayal, and moral dilemmas emerge in the first book only to intensify further as the series continues. Lush, descriptive prose; complex characters; and a multi-layered, imaginative plot create a leisurely-paced but riveting series that succeeds in seamlessly combining magic with contemporary social issues. High School.

This One Summer by Jillian Tamaki & Mariko Tamaki (2014)
Bittersweet and brilliantly paced, this coming-of-age graphic novel centers on a young teen's summer vacation, during which she finds herself drawn to an older boy and depressed by the strain in her parents' marriage. Mariko Tamaki's illustrations wonderfully convey Rose's frustrations, anxiety, and heartbreaks, and the images are full of life and movement. Middle School (mature)/High School.






Updated:
Giver Quartet (series) by Lois Lowry (1993–2012)
The Giver has been included on our list since the beginning, but now we feel it is time to round out the story of Jonas and the Community by including the full series. We've added Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son to the list!

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

SUMMER READING 2016: 5 Guest Reviews from Tweens & Teens

Summer Reading is on! We're having a great summer at BCPL with events ranging from fitness activities to a lab with the Kentucky Science Center to awesome magic shows. But the heart of Summer Reading will always be books and reading.

And we're so excited with the response we are receiving from the participants in our 2016 Reading Challenges. Here are just a few of the book reviews we've received so far; more will be posted here over the month to come. Thanks to all of our guest reviewers for sharing!


How to Disappear Completely and Never Be Found by Sara Nickerson
Reviewer: Tyler W., Age 10
Tyler's Rating: 3/5 Stars
Genre: Graphic Novel/Mystery
Audience: Tween/Teen

Tyler's Summary & Review:  A boy and his mom move into a mansion only to find out weird things keep happening. It's ok. Kind of a long book.



Quarterback Sneak by Jake Maddox
Reviewer: Tyler W., Age 10
Tyler's Rating: 5/5 Stars
Genre: Realistic Fiction/Sports Fiction
Audience: Middle Grade/Tween

Tyler's Summary & Review:  A quarterbacks suddenly starts acting very strange, which puts the team in major jeopardy.I enjoyed this book, I can relate to one of the characters because he wants to help his team. I also have a passion for football.



Wonder by R.J. Palacio
Reviewer: Katelynn W., Age 11
Katelynn's Rating: 5/5 Stars
Genre: Realistic Fiction/School Story
Audience: Middle Grade/Tween

Katelynn's Summary & Review:  A boy has a facial disease and has a hard time "fitting in" at school and out of school. I am here to tell you that I really think you should read this book. First, the book makes me feel like I'm in the story experiencing what is going on. Next, the book has really good detail to make me imagine everything that is going on. Last, the book has a really good story behind that and it has a good plot. That is why you should read the book Wonder by R.J. Palacio. Enjoy!😊

EXTRA: Tracy's Thoughts: I couldn't agree more with Katelynn's rating and review! I loved this book back when I read it, hence its inclusion on our Best of 2012 book list for middle grade and tween readers and my whining over its exclusion from the 2013 Youth Media Awards. Here's my brief overview from one of our Book Picks lists:
Ten-year-old Auggie was born with extreme facial abnormalities. When he was younger, he used to wear a space helmet all the time just to hide from the stares. Now Auggie—homeschooled all his life—is ready to come out of hiding and is set to begin fifth grade at a private Manhattan middle school. Heartbreaking, funny, and simply wonderful in every way, Wonder is a must-read for book lovers of all ages. Ages 8 and up



Julius Zebra: Rumble with the Romans by Gary Northfield
Reviewer: Katelynn W., Age 11
Katelynn's Rating: 4.5/5 Stars
Genre: Animal Fantasy
Audience: Middle Grade

Katelynn's Summary & Review: A zebra and other animals get captured and have to train to be gladiators. Once they train, they have to fight to earn their freedom.

I think you should read the book Julius Zebra: Rumble with the Romans by Gary Northfield. First, this book has some great facts about the Romans and other things. Next, the book has really great humor. Last, the book has a lot of feeling in it. That is why I think you should read the book Julius Zebra: Rumble with the Romans by Gary Northfield.



Twilight by Stephenie Meyer
Reviewer: Kaylee F., Age 12
Kaylee's Rating: 5/5 Stars
Genre: Fantasy/Paranormal Romance
Audience: Teen/Young Adult

Kaylee's Summary & Review: The storyline is about a girl named Bella Swan and when she moves in with her dad at the town of Forks. I thought this book was a great start to an amazing series.The story itself was great because it explained how Bella felt at all times in amazing words and vocabulary. I loved the characters a lot because they all were a big part of an amazing story. I loved the setting because when the author wrote to explain the setting she made it feel like I was actually looking at it myself. I just enjoyed this book so much I couldn't even put it down. You should really read this book and fall in love with it just as I did.

EXTRA: Tracy's Thoughts: As Kaylee says, this book is compulsively readable. I couldn't put it down and read the entire book (about 500 pages) in a single night. I have a few issues with the book (Edward's stalker tendencies, for one), but nothing that prevented me from staying up till about 6:00 in the morning until I finished!


Are you interested in submitting a guest review? Use the submission form on our website to share your thoughts (positive, negative, or in between) about your latest read. And remember: eligible BCPL patrons earn an entry in our Summer Reading Grand Prize Drawing for each review they submit!

Saturday, February 27, 2016

REVIEW: Capote in Kansas: A Ghost Story by Kim Powers + Bonus Suggestions for Further Reading

Ever since the news about Harper Lee was announced last week, we've been a little sad here at BCPL. However, we've also been thinking about the contribution Lee's work and life have made to the literary world despite the fact that she only published two books during her lifetime. So in honor of that, Beth—Assistant Branch Manager of our Lebanon Junction location and a HUGE Harper Lee fan—is contributing her very first review here at Book News & Reviews.

Together, we've also compiled a list of related readings we think will appeal to Harper Lee fans. The list includes titles by and about Harper Lee as well as those inspired by her work and life. We've also included several "read-alike" titles that we feel reflect similar themes or characters as Lee's classic novel To Kill a Mockingbird.


Beth's Rating: 5/5 Stars
Genre: Historical Fiction/Paranormal Mystery
Audience: Adult

Summary: A fictional tale of the friendship between Harper Lee and Truman Capote with a twist. Here, after a decades' estrangement that followed the publication of To Kill a Mockingbird, the former friends are drawn together again when Truman fears he is being haunted by the Clutter family.

First Lines: "She's back. She's after me."

Beth's Review: Author Kim Powers takes the story of Truman Capote and Harper Lee and spins a tale full of mystery and haunting memories. Is it the past that comes back to haunt you; or ghosts of those who have touched your lives, revisiting you in your aging years? Or is the ghost regret for what once was? What really happened to end the friendship of Capote and Lee?? A story based on facts will take you back to 1959—the true story of the murder of a Kansas family of four that took four years to become Capote's In Cold Blood—and to 1960 and the book that took the world by storm, To Kill a Mockingbird. Can someone tortured by the past atone in the present?? A great read that makes you feel like you're watching a movie as it unfolds.

Check for availability in the library catalog.


Related Readings

By Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird - Check Library Catalog | Read C.W.'s Guest Review
Go Set a Watchman - Check Library Catalog | Read C.W.'s Guest Review

By Truman Capote
In Cold Blood - Check Library Catalog

Nonfiction about Harper Lee & her work
Mockingbird: A Portrait of Harper Lee - Check Library Catalog
The Mockingbird Next Door: Life with Harper Lee - Check Library Catalog
I Am Scout: The Biography of Harper Lee - Check Library Catalog
Scout, Atticus & Boo - Check Library Catalog

Fiction inspired by Harper Lee & her work
Capote in Kansas: A Ghost Story - Check Library Catalog
I Kill the Mockingbird - Check Library Catalog
In Search of Mockingbird - Check Library Catalog

Recommended for To Kill a Mockingbird fans
The Dry Grass of August - Check Library Catalog
The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter - Check Library Catalog
A Land More Kind Than Home - Check Library Catalog | Read My Review
A Lesson Before Dying - Check Library Catalog
Mudbound: A Novel - Check Library Catalog
Revolution - Check Library Catalog | A Best of 2014 Selection
The Secret Life of Bees - Check Library Catalog
A Time to Kill - Check Library Catalog
The Undertaker's Daughter - Check Library Catalog
Whistling Past the Graveyard - Check Library Catalog


Related Films
Capote - Check Library Catalog
In Cold Blood - Check Library Catalog
To Kill a Mockingbird - Check Library Catalog
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...